Alphington Grammar School opened its doors in 1989.
Established by the Greek Community of Melbourne and Victoria who were looking to set up a school which connected the Greek community yet remained non-denominational, the School quickly developed into a multi-cultural and diverse School where all were welcome. Today, around 25 ethnic and religious backgrounds are represented within our student body.
The School was built on the site of what was once the homestead of Charles Trescowthick, a prominent Melbourne boot-maker of the late 19th and early 20th century. He and his family built Flowerdale house, which still remains part of our School grounds. The Edwardian style home has stunning views of the Darebin Creek and surrounding greenery of the Darebin Parklands. Following Charles’ death, the homestead remained with his family for quite some time before being sold to the Catholic Church in the 1960s. Parade College used the site as a junior school campus for some time from the 1956 to 1981, before it passed on to the Greek Community in 1988.